In Florida, you must obtain a dealer license if you have bought or will be buying, selling or leasing three or more motor vehicles within 12 months. This also applies to even displaying three or more vehicles for sale as well.

You must complete many steps to earn a dealership license. These steps often include:

  • Determining the type of license you need
  • Completing a prelicense training course
  • Having a permanent location for your business
  • Gathering all the necessary documents
  • Having proof of liability insurance
  • Earning your auto dealer bond
  • Submitting your application

While this list isn't long, it is more difficult than it appears. The guidance of an attorney experienced in automobile dealership law can make a world of difference in ensuring that all your affairs are in place to begin your business. The lawyers of Kurkin Forehand Brandes LLP are well-versed in how to make sure you don't miss anything.

Make Sure That Your Business Starts Off On The Right Foot

Because applying for dealership licensing in Florida requires a completed application, a certificate of completion, proof of identification, a surety bond, tax and federal employee ID numbers, and fees for each location, it can become a mess to keep everything organized. We know that you want to get through this process as fast as possible, and we can help you do that.

With a legal team with over 190 years of combined experience, we can help you get the best start possible. If you are in the Aventura or Tallahassee areas, contact us today at 305-929-8500 for a free consultation.